Monday, May 26, 2008

Jazzmatazz, Vol. 1

Got this cd from ebay not long ago, listen for a little bit.. wow, this is so dope. I might be late for this(the cd is 15 years old), i did not realize jazzy hip hop until i watch samurai champloo and nujabes. but 15 years ago.. what am i listening to that time, i was 6 years old.. i dont think i even understand what is music.

Jazzmatazz, Vol. 1 is a jazz rap album by alternative hip hop artist Guru, released on May 18, 1993 (see 1993 in music) on Chrysalis Records. This album is one of the first albums to combine a live jazz band with hip hop production and rapping. It is the first such project to feature established rappers. Live backing is provided by a band that includes Lonnie Liston Smith, Branford Marsalis, Ronny Jordan, Donald Byrd and Roy Ayers. The album also features collaborations with N'Dea Davenport (of the Brand New Heavies) and French rapper MC Solaar.


1. "Introduction" – 1:20
2. "Loungin'" (with Donald Byrd on trumpet and piano) – 4:38
3. "When You're Near" (with N'Dea Davenport on vocals and Simon Law on keyboards) – 4:02
4. "Transit Ride" (with Branford Marsalis on alto and soprano saxophone and Zachary Breaux on guitar) – 3:58
5. "No Time to Play" (with Ronny Jordan on guitar and D. C. Lee on vocals) – 4:54
6. "Down to the Backstreets" (with Lonnie Liston Smith on acoustic and electric piano) – 4:47
7. "Respectful Dedications" - :54
8. "Take a Look (At Yourself)" (with Roy Ayers on vibraphone) – 3:59
9. "Trust Me" (with N'Dea Davenport on vocals) – 4:27
10. "Slicker Than Most" (with Gary Barnacle on saxophone and flute) – 2:36
11. "Le Bien, Le Mal" (with MC Solaar) – 3:21
12. "Sights in the City" (with Courtney Pine on alto and soprano sax and flute, Carleen Anderson on vocals and Simon Law on keyboards) – 5:10


Anonymous said...

If you are just now checking out Jazzmatazz, you might also want to check out Buckshot LeFonque, another "jazzy hip hop" project spearheaded by Branford Marsalis. Definitely worth a listen.

Anarki said...

thanks! i will definately check it